A Rainbow for Your Kitchen

medium_6910141198
I actually oohed and aahed when I opened up the big white cooler at the co-op and saw the Rainbow Chard. Such a pretty vegetable. Appropriate too that it would show up in this week’s pick up after the days and days of rain we have had, which also gave rise to a few rainbows.

Not sure what I am going to do with the chard. Given the pretty color of the stems, it would be nice to use them with the leaves in a simple sauté. As the photographer of this picture, Sarah @ pingsandneedles, notes, Rainbow Chard is one of the few vegetables to hold its color when cooked.

Then again if I have the time and energy, I might use them in the adaptation of Little Kitchen Big Flavor’s Beef & Rice Stuffed Swiss Chard I made last month. Instead of using the beef and rice, I used chopped turkey meat and quinoa. The result was even better than the stuffed cabbage I so love. Kind of a cross between the stuffed cabbage and a Parmesan dish. Rich in flavor, texture and so good for you.

Photo Credit: Sarah @ pingsandneedles via photopin cc

About Kathleen

Believing that food is our best medicine, I am constantly searching out better food, organic, non-GMO. Unable to get seeds to spouts after decades of trying and lacking the sun you really need for a garden in our lake community home, I have come to rely on either a CSA or co-op to provide me with healthy ingredients. It’s both been both a blessing and a challenge. My husband and I have been exposed to and come to love vegetables we probably never would have tried. One of our favorites now is mustard greens. But receiving a bounty of food once or every other week also means coming up with recipes and ideas for turning it all into something healthy and tasty. This blog is where I am sharing what I have learned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

