Shrimp and Corn Chowder and Mushrooms Over Quinoa

shrimpI used to eat a fair amount of shrimp before so much fish started to be farmed raised. Farm-raised shrimp tends to be particularly nasty and has been labeled a Chemical Cocktail by Public Citizen. Once in a while, however, you just have to have some shrimp — at least we do — and when I found this Shrimp and Corn Chowder recipe that uses Old Bay seasoning, which I adore, I just had to give it a try. So my answer was to turn to Costco, which I think tries to do a good job sourcing food and purchased its Kirkland bag of raw shrimp. I did make one major substitution in this recipe. I used two-percent evaporated milk in place of the half-and-half to reduce the calories and fat. It’s a great substitution with no loss of flavor or texture. And I was able to use some of the orange and yellow peppers from our latest co-op pick up.

I originally found this recipe in a magazine at the doctor’s office. Yes, I am one of those people who occasionally will rip out an interesting recipe or article from a magazine in a public place. If there is a good selection of magazines, meaning there is plenty for people to read while they are waiting, I might also just take the entire magazine. Having just ripped out the recipe in this case, I have no clue which magazine I got this recipe from but fortunately epicurious.com has the exact same recipe.

Mushrooms and Quinoa
After the soup, my next favorite recipe from this week’s pick-up was mushrooms over quinoa. Nothing fancy. Just sautéed some mushrooms in a little butter, less than a tablespoon, and when they were near done threw in about two tablespoons of sherry. Reheated some quinoa I had already pre-cooked, topped it with the mushrooms and sprinkled with some parmesan cheese. Made for a very tasty and protein-packed weekend lunch so I could go out and pull some weeds in the garden and move around some plants.

About Kathleen

Believing that food is our best medicine, I am constantly searching out better food, organic, non-GMO. Unable to get seeds to spouts after decades of trying and lacking the sun you really need for a garden in our lake community home, I have come to rely on either a CSA or co-op to provide me with healthy ingredients. It’s both been both a blessing and a challenge. My husband and I have been exposed to and come to love vegetables we probably never would have tried. One of our favorites now is mustard greens. But receiving a bounty of food once or every other week also means coming up with recipes and ideas for turning it all into something healthy and tasty. This blog is where I am sharing what I have learned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

