Strawberry Cheesecake Trifle

exps15621_LT10189C57Pick-Up 3, along with an amazing bag of mixed greens, included quite a bit of fruit – namely strawberries and cantaloupe. Luckily, it also came right before our Memorial Day gathering with neighbors and friends.

The top recipe to come out of this was the Skinny Strawberry Cheesecake Trifle from Jeanette’s Healthy Living that does NOT rely on low-fat Cool Whip, which I refuse to use. Instead, Jeanette uses low-fat cottage cheese and low-fat sour cream to get that cheesecake flavor and believe it or not it really works. The dessert was a complete hit and is now my cousin’s favorite and she lives for full-fat decadent treats. NOTE: This recipe calls for two cups powered sugar. I did not have any on hand and two cups sounded like a lot. I used about a quarter cup regular sugar.

The cantaloupe I diced up and made part of a mixed green salad, topped with a dressing made from a little olive oil, apple cider vinegar and Dijon mustard. It’s one of my stand-by dressings.

A friend at work has joined a really amazing CSA that provides her with recipes for what she receives every other week. For the tomatoes, she was provided with this Tomato Phyllo Tart recipe from Eating Well. Since I had a box of phyllo in the freezer left over from another dish, I thought I’d give this a try. Was really curious how this would go over with the husband. Given that he’s a Jersey Italian who could live off of pizza, I was afraid this would be too much of a deviation from your typical flour crust, tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese. Turns out he loved it, and if Ray likes it I know it’s a keeper.

About Kathleen

Believing that food is our best medicine, I am constantly searching out better food, organic, non-GMO. Unable to get seeds to spouts after decades of trying and lacking the sun you really need for a garden in our lake community home, I have come to rely on either a CSA or co-op to provide me with healthy ingredients. It’s both been both a blessing and a challenge. My husband and I have been exposed to and come to love vegetables we probably never would have tried. One of our favorites now is mustard greens. But receiving a bounty of food once or every other week also means coming up with recipes and ideas for turning it all into something healthy and tasty. This blog is where I am sharing what I have learned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

