Weekend Cook Off

spinach
Figures I bought a bag of spinach before my pick up, so the first challenge was what to do with all this spinach. First up, I turned to one of my trusty Weight Watchers recipes, Feta and Vegetables Frittatas. Two great things about this recipe are that you can use whatever veggies you have on hand. Along with the spinach and artichoke, I added in my leftover portobellos from a few nights before. The second is that these freeze very nicely. I store two each in sandwich bags so during the work week, all I need to do is heat these up for a quick, tasty breakfast that also begins to meet my veggie goals for the day.

favabeansNext up was something new, Fava, Spinach and Quinoa Cakes from Marcus Samuelsson, a protein-packed dish. This was my first attempt at fava beans. I used dried beans, which required some soaking beforehand. From Martha Stewart, I leaned to boil them for 5 minutes after soaking overnight and then to throw them into a cold water bath to make it easier to remove the hard shell to get to the bean. Sunday morning, I sat out on the deck enjoying the sun and popped off the skins. It took a while before I learned the trick, which is to score the dark part of the bean, peel that back and pop out the bean. This recipe made a lot, so I was able to freeze a nice bunch so I have lunch to bring to work. The husband thought they were lacking in flavor. I think I may have been too cautious with the spices. Given the Mediterranean spices, I whipped up some Greek tzatziki sauce, which made these quite delightful.

The rainbow chard became an easy Friday night dinner. I bought some chorizo spiced chicken sausage at the natural food market I am fortunate to have near where I work. Cooked that up and then threw in the chard with some garlic and white wine. Viola, dinner! Notice, how I like to throw things together?

About Kathleen

Believing that food is our best medicine, I am constantly searching out better food, organic, non-GMO. Unable to get seeds to spouts after decades of trying and lacking the sun you really need for a garden in our lake community home, I have come to rely on either a CSA or co-op to provide me with healthy ingredients. It’s both been both a blessing and a challenge. My husband and I have been exposed to and come to love vegetables we probably never would have tried. One of our favorites now is mustard greens. But receiving a bounty of food once or every other week also means coming up with recipes and ideas for turning it all into something healthy and tasty. This blog is where I am sharing what I have learned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

