The Choice Has Been Made

Week One

Well, finally decided on a co-op, White Oaks. Membership fee is low ($20), pick ups are every other week at $35 and there is a mix of veggies and fruits and everything is organic. This was the first pick up:

  • two large portobello mushrooms
  • rainbow chard – very pretty
  • spinach
  • red leaf lettuce
  • large bag of green beans
  • 2 pounds of carrots
  • 3 large onions
  • 3 heads of garlic
  • package of colored peppers – very sweet eaten raw or roasted
  • oranges
  • bananas

The first meal was a simple one. Portobellos with Grilled Peppers. I popped the portobellos in the toaster oven, while I grilled a couple of peppers in a spray of oil. Once the mushrooms were close to done, I threw some grated cheese on top (mozzarella and Parmesan), sprinkled with Italian seasoning and once the cheese was melted topped the mushrooms with the peppers.

Next posts, I will talk about some of the other delicious and challenging recipes I tackled. The fruit is always easy. They either get juiced or thrown into a smoothie.

About Kathleen

Believing that food is our best medicine, I am constantly searching out better food, organic, non-GMO. Unable to get seeds to spouts after decades of trying and lacking the sun you really need for a garden in our lake community home, I have come to rely on either a CSA or co-op to provide me with healthy ingredients. It’s both been both a blessing and a challenge. My husband and I have been exposed to and come to love vegetables we probably never would have tried. One of our favorites now is mustard greens. But receiving a bounty of food once or every other week also means coming up with recipes and ideas for turning it all into something healthy and tasty. This blog is where I am sharing what I have learned.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

