First Co-Op Pickup

First Co-Op Pickup

A much smaller but certainly more manageable bounty of organic food to deal with. This is from the trial basket I picked up from the co-op I am thinking of joining as an alternative to the CSA I joined last year. While I love greens, it all just felt like too much greens from the CSA and getting the husband to eat dinner after dinner of greens was quite the challenge.

The potatoes here I am going to turn into a Weight Watchers German Potato Salad. You’ll find I tend to use a lot of WW recipes. A couple of years ago, I was able to lose 30 pounds on the plan and pretty much have maintained that loss by watching what I eat.

Haven’t decided yet what to do with the zucchini. But that’s an easy vegetable to use. It might end up in a stir fry, on top of pizza or sautéed with a little olive oil or coconut oil as a side dish. Yes, you read that right. Coconut oil. My mother recently told me about all its health benefits and now I am using it in cooking and on my hair and skin. Here is a link to what the Dr. Oz Show has to say http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/surprising-health-benefits-coconut-oil.

The apples, oranges and bananas will largely end up in smoothies or one of my juicing recipes.

The sprouts are a bit of a challenge. Back in college, I ate them like a snack but these days they taste very grassy to me. So far, I have juiced them with apples and ginger, put them on top of salads and this morning was the best. I made a toasted cheese sandwich topped it with some avocado and then some sprouts. Delicious!

Now a decision to make. Go with the co-op or keep looking?

About Kathleen

Believing that food is our best medicine, I am constantly searching out better food, organic, non-GMO. Unable to get seeds to spouts after decades of trying and lacking the sun you really need for a garden in our lake community home, I have come to rely on either a CSA or co-op to provide me with healthy ingredients. It’s both been both a blessing and a challenge. My husband and I have been exposed to and come to love vegetables we probably never would have tried. One of our favorites now is mustard greens. But receiving a bounty of food once or every other week also means coming up with recipes and ideas for turning it all into something healthy and tasty. This blog is where I am sharing what I have learned.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

